The Rules
2 . In stroke play , a player ’ s ball lies on a paved cart path in the general area and he or she drops a ball in taking relief under the abnormal course conditions relief Rule ( 16.1 . b ). Which of the following is false ? a . If the dropped ball touches the player ’ s foot before hitting the ground , comes to rest in the relief area and is played from there , the player gets the general penalty . b . If the dropped ball touches the player ’ s foot before hitting the ground , comes to rest in the relief area and is played from there , there is a one-stroke penalty . c . If the dropped ball was dropped in the right way but came to rest outside the relief area and the ball is played , the player gets the general penalty .
3 . In match play , a player ’ s ball lies in a fairway bunker . The player makes a stroke at the ball that comes to rest in the same bunker but much closer to the hole . Before the player ’ s next stroke , his or her caddie rakes the area of the previous stroke and other areas nearby to care for the course . What is the ruling ? a . There is no penalty . b . The player gets the general penalty . c . The player gets a total penalty of four strokes .
4 . True or False : In mixed Foursomes , in starting play of a hole , if the man hits a tee shot out of bounds from the back tee , the woman must play the next stroke from the forward tee .
ADVANCED 1 . A player ’ s caddie removes the flagstick and places it on the ground on the putting green . The player mishits a chip shot from the fringe and the ball is headed
Players must be careful when dropping a ball when taking relief from cart paths .
towards the removed flagstick which the caddie quickly lifts , allowing the ball to roll several feet beyond where the flagstick originally lay . Which of the following is true ? a . The player gets no penalty . b . The player gets the general penalty . c . The stroke must be canceled and replayed . d . The player gets a penalty of disqualification for deliberately moving an object to affect the movement of the ball .
2 . Which of the following is not an abnormal course condition unless declared so by the Committee ? a . The hole left when a 150-yard marker was removed . b . Mud . c . Grass cutting piles for later removal in the general area next to a putting green .
d . Water overflowing the edge of a surface drainage ditch marked as a red penalty area .
3 . In stroke play , a player plays a new ball from the teeing area and it comes to rest in the fairway . He then skulls the second shot to the fringe of the putting green . Upon arriving at the ball , he sees a large cut in it . Without saying anything to his marker or another player , he marks the position of his ball before lifting it , substitutes a new ball for the cut ball and completes play of the hole . After he returns his scorecard but before the close of the competition , the Committee becomes aware of the incident . What is the ruling ? a . There is no penalty . b . The Committee should add a one stroke penalty to his score . c . The Committee should add the general penalty ( 2 strokes ) to his score . d . The Committee should disqualify him since he was aware of the facts and therefore , the Exception to rule 3-3 ( Wrong Score for Hole ) does not apply .
USGA
A player failed to get out of a bunker and must hit another shot from the same bunker but much closer to the hole . Is his caddie OK to rake the spot of the previous stroke ?
4 . In match play , a player lifts his ball that is on the fringe without marking it and removes grass which is sticking to the ball . He replaces the ball properly . He gets : a . No penalty . b . One penalty stroke . c . Two one-stroke penalties . d . A loss-of-hole penalty .
vsga . org J ANUARY / F EBRUARY 2021 | V IRGINIA G OLFER 13