Indiana MoneyWise 2016 | Page 3

There are four main divisions that comprise the Secretary of State's office:

Business Services Elections

Securities Auto Dealer Services

The Office of Secretary of State is one of five constitutional officers originally designated in Indiana's State Constitution of 1816. Sixty-one Hoosiers have served as the third highest-ranking official in state government.

Duties of the office include registering new business, regulation of the securities industry, oversight of state elections, commissioning of notaries public, registration of trademarks and licensing of vehicle dealerships throughout Indiana.

What services make up the Secretary of State's office?