Cake! magazine by Australian Cake Decorating Network November 2019 Cake! Magazine | Page 71
IS THE VEGAN ROYAL ICING PRODUCT SUITABLE
FOR PEOPLE WITH INTOLERANCES/ALLERGIES?
In India there is a strong preference and prevalence
for vegetarian cakes when it comes to celebrating
events. There is also a large part of the society
worldwide who are moving towards a vegan based
diet due to various reasons, restriction etc. which
had led to the growth in the vegan bakery industry.
However due to this the traditional royal icing is left
out of this because of the egg content. So to get
the royal icing artwork to suit the cake industry’s
trending needs, I had come up with the egg free,
vegan version.
This will not only help to bring the royal icing
dimension in the cake industry in India, but will also
help in reviving this elegant art world wide.
TELL US HOW VEGAN ROYAL ICING CAN BE
USED. WHAT ARE THE BENEFITS? The product is
vegan, soy-free, nut free. It is made out of chickpea
water and icing sugar. So people having allergies or
intolerances towards eggs, dairy, gluten, nuts can
still use this.
IS VEGAN ROYAL ICING SPECIFICALLY FOR
PROFESSIONAL CAKE DECORATORS OR CAN
ANYONE USE THIS PRODUCT? This royal icing
can be used just like the traditional royal icing. It
can be used straight out of the pack for the regular
use and the consistency can also be easily adjusted
by adding water or icing sugar as needed. This
product is good in taste and does not have the smell
of the eggs. Additionally, the royal icing shelf life is 1
year in the sealed form and stays good for 6 months
once the pack is opened if kept refrigerated. This is
also Halal Certified. It is a ready to use product for
all kind of cake decorators.