Ελληνικό Δίκτυο ΦΙΛΟΙ της ΦΥΣΗΣ
Agia Triada district,
Megara (modern Neo
Meli)
The Agia Triada headland is
next to “Vourkari“ wetland
(See Page 55). It has been
used as a defense since
antiquity, being mentioned
by Strabo as “Minoa Akra”.
According to Thucydides,
Athenian general Nikias (469 –
413 BCE) fortified and manned
the area. Two farm houses
were built there during Roman
times.
There is also the Wall of Agia
Triada, a unique fortification
from the Greek Revolution
period. Its construction started
in 1818, a few months before
the start of the Revolution and
was completed in 1823. It is
600 m. long, 4 m. high with
numerous embrasures. It still
remains intact in its whole
length. A wall, under the water
level, was built as a secret
passage to the castle. The Agia
Triada (Holy Trinity) Church is
located inside the enclosure.
Holy Church of Metamorphosis in
Vilia, by Ernst Ziller, 1893.
More Info
More info on the Archaeological Site and Museum of Megara at the website:
http://odysseus.culture.gr/.
85