Walking On Volume 6, Issue 10, October 2019 - Page 3

walking horse owners’ association P.O. Box 4007, Murfreesboro TN 37129 (615)494-8822 • joinwhoa@aol.com www.walkinghorseowners.com WHOA Staff Tommy Hall . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Executive Director Teresa Owen . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Secretary Joyce Taylor . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Bookkeeper WHOA Board of Directors Jason Bachert, jasonb@mannapro.com Kim Bennett, cowboykim58@gmail.com Jodi DeDecker-Bubar, jodidedecker@hotmail.com Martha Child, marthachild@icloud.com Amy Cross-Nance, amy@amycrossnance.com Jean Marie Degville, monette570@aol.com Crystal Deputy, cld2506@vt.edu Kyle Elliott, kyle_matthew_elliott@yahoo.com Gary Feltner, gary@rcwalkinghorses.com Darden Gladney, dgladney@glenbrookschool.com Dennis R. Hills, dhills@championsmercantile.com Jessica Hlebak, jhlebak@ncsu.edu Charles Howard, Secretary, cbh51@earthlink.net Phyllis Langley, seniorgal47@gmail.com Rhonda Martocci, President, rmartocci@comcast.net Dee Dee Miller, Pro-Tem, maskr8ng@aol.com Maggie Moore, Treasurer, maggiemoore615@gmail.com Peggy Moore, peggymoore515@yahoo.com Frank E. Neal, Vice President, fneal@feneal.com Sis Osborne, sisosborne@tds.net David Pruett, dpruett@comcast.net Darrin Sisk, dsisk@colletondsn.org Sherrie Szucs, ssrunwalk@gmail.com Mark Taylor, marktaylor@realtracs.com Lynn Womack, glwomack11@gmail.com John H. Wright, jhwright@edge.net The Walking Horse Owners Association (WHOA), head- quartered in Murfreesboro, Tennessee, was founded in 1976 to represent the interests in all matters pertaining to the sound Tennessee Walking Horse. WHOA’s goals are to advocate for fair and equal treatment of all members and to promote and protect the welfare of the breed. WHOA develops and supports programs that increase the value of Tennessee Walking Horses and enhances members experiences with their horses. Volume 6, Issue 10, October 2019 walking_on@aol.com Creative Director . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Sarah Gee Contributing Editor. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Sis Osborne In This Issue Columns WHOA Dispatch . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4 Bits & Pieces . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 6 For the Health of It . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 8 Back to Basics. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 12 Show Results. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 22 Sections Walking On Bulletin Board . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 12 Shows / Events KY Breeders Incentive Championship. . . . . . . . . . 14 WHOA Versatility Show, Brownsville KY . . . . . . . 16 WHOA Versatility Show, Murfreesboro TN . . . . . 18 Ads Georgia WDAA . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 10-11 Happy Trails Program. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 36 The Wicked Wolf . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 5 TWHF . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 9 Walking On. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2, 13 WHOA Versatility Shows, Brownsville KY . . . 20, 21 The opinions and statements expressed in articles, columns, and advertisements are not necessarily the viewpoint or position of the magazine or the Walking Horse Owners’ Association (WHOA). Walking On is not responsible for view- points and statements expressed in articles, columns, and paid advertisements. Reproduction of advertising or editorial content without the express consent of WHOA is strictly prohibited. WHOA reserves the right to edit submissions for content, style and space. WHOA also reserves the right to refuse any advertising for any reason. 3