WACONIA_2026 | Page 41

HISTORIC MILESTONES OF LOCAL INTEREST
• 1850 – Andrew Peterson immigrated from Sweden and settled in Waconia. Today his famous journals are preserved as an international treasure.
• The early 1860s- The first hotel in Waconia, the Lake House, was built on the corner of Main and Vine streets.
• 1864- Where Lola’ s Lakehouse now stands, there stood a lumber mill.
• 1875- The first brewery in Waconia set up shop just off Clearwater Lake( now Lake Waconia).
• 1884- Lambert Naegle purchased Coney Island for $ 5,200.
• 1885- The steamship, Niagara was launched on the lake and served tourists until it was demolished by the tornado of 1904.
• 1888- The Coney Island Hotel was built and was known for dancing, boating, fishing, croquet, tennis, and“ amusement.” Room and board cost $ 3.50 per day.
• 1902- The Boston Ice Company built its first icehouse on the east side of the lake.
• 1904- The‘ Waconia Cyclone’ leaves significant destruction in its path.
• By 1913, three daily passenger trains were going in and out of Waconia to the Twin Cities.
• From 1903- 1905 the University of Minnesota’ s varsity football team used Coney Island as a training facility.
• 1917- Arthur Mackenthun opened a meat market in Waconia. Today, Mackenthun’ s is Minnesota’ s longest-running family grocery.
• 1933- The Paradise Nite Club opened its doors.
• 1978- Coney Island is placed on the National Register of Historic Places.
• 2024- Lake Waconia Regional Park Paradise Commons opened its doors.
Waconia Area Chamber of Commerce 41