Torch: U.S. LXVIII Winter 2018 - Page 2

TORCH: U.S. POLICY

The Torch:U.S. is published four times yearly as the official magazine of the National Junior Classical League. Issues are published in fall, winter, spring, and summer. It is entered as third-class material from the Oxford, Ohio, Post Office. The ideas expressed in the Opinion section are the comments of the Torch:U.S. and its staff and should not necessarily be considered the policy of the National Junior Classical League, its officers, or the National Committee. Readers are encouraged to express their opinions on any subject relevant to the classics or JCL in the Voices Section. Your name and address or title must be included with your submission. All names will be published. Submissions may be sent to the editor or the advisor (see addresses to the left).

PHOTO CREDITS

Jesse Hogan, Kurt Ristroph, Dennis Webb

TORCH: U.S. STAFF

EDITOR

Anika Park

ADVISOR

Kurt Ristroph

Editor's Note

VOICES: 2018-2019 Officer Introductions

Essay: Why the Classics Matter

Fall Planning Meeting Report

Photo Gallery: Meeting

Cover Story: Powerful Roman Women

Interview with Two NJCL Officers

State Updates

How to Study for Nationals Exams

Meme Contest Gallery

JUNIOR CLASSICAL LEAGUE DIRECTORY

NJCL Officers 2018–2019

President Natasha Panduwawala

president@njcl.org

First Vice President Aleah Malik

vp1@njcl.org

Second Vice President Michaela Phan

vp2@njcl.org

Communications Coordinator Natalie Hilderbrand

commcoordinator@njcl.org

Parliamentarian Layla Fistos

parliamentarian@njcl.org

Historian Jesse Hogan

historian@njcl.org

Editor Anika Park

editor@njcl.org

NSCL Officers 2018-2019

President Grace McIntire

president@nscl.org

Vice President Alexandra Pasamihalis

vp@nscl.org

Secretary Brianna Jett

secretary@nscl.org

Treasurer Jamie Doyle

treasurer@nscl.org

Parliamentarian Savannah France

parliamentarian@nscl.org

Historian Ryan Divine

historian@nscl.org

Editor Jacob Hane

editor@nscl.org

National Committee 2018-2019

Chair, Public Relations/Membership Catherine Sturgill

publicity@njcl.org

Vice Chair, Contests, Academics David Jackson

academics@njcl.org

Secretary, Communications Bob McDonald

communications@njcl.org

Contests, Olympika/SCL Kyle McGimsey

olympika@njcl.org

Contests, Digital Generosa Sangco-Jackson

certamen@njcl.org

Contests, Creative Arts Seth Knowles

creativearts@njcl.org

Contests, Certamen Jenny Luongo

certamen@njcl.org

Convention Advisor Liz Bouis

convention@njcl.org

Programs/Scholastic Services Sherry Jankowski

programs@njcl.org

Constitutional Advisor Dennis Webb

constitution@njcl.org

Contests, Graphic Arts Jennifer Jordt

graphicarts@njcl.org

Publications Kurt Ristroph

publications@njcl.org

Administrator/Ex-Officio Sherwin Little

860 NW Washington Boulevard, Suite A Hamilton, OH 45013

(513) 529-7741 • fax (513) 529-7742 • administrator@njcl.org

2

CONTENTS

TABLE OF

3

4

8

10

11

12

16

18

21

22

WINTER 2018 · Torch: U.S. · PREVIEW