#thisispearl Feb 2021 - Page 11

# 11 #

New York City. CPAA recently sponsored a CIBJO-organized webinar dubbed Reimagining the Pearl, Youthful, Bolder and Edgier. The webinar took place on Thursday, Feb. 11, at 12 noon EDT; the full recording from YouTube is above.

CIBJO is the World Jewellery Confederation, a group that calls itself the United Nations of the jewelry business and represents the interests of all individuals, organizations, and companies earning livelihoods from jewelry, gemstones, and precious metals. The webinar cast a spotlight on visionary pearl jewelry designers and manufacturers aiming to break the pearl’s staid image.

Panelists included Jennifer Heebner, executive director of the Cultured Pearl Association of America (CPAA); Melanie Georgacopoulos, owner and creative director of the London-based jewelry brand of the same name and head designer of M/G Tasaki, a collaboration with Japan’s Tasaki group; Peggy Grosz, senior vice president at New York-headquartered Assael Inc., where she is in charge of product development and design; Sean Gilson, a groundbreaking master jeweler with a studio in Connecticut and a workshop in New York City; and Patricia Kiley Faber, co-owner of the Aaron Faber Gallery in New York and curator of its contemporary jewelry exhibitions and permanent collections.

CPAA & CIBJO

CPAA Board of Directors

Aziz Basalely, Eliko Pearl Co., president, abasalely@gmail.com

Anil Maloo, Baggins, Inc., vice president, bagginsinc@sbcglobal.net

Jeremy Shepherd, PearlParadise.com, Inc., treasurer, Jeremy@pearlparadise.com

Richard Blake, Grassmann-Blake, secretary and membership chairman, richardb@gbclasp.com

Peter Bazar, Imperial Pearl, president emeritus, pbazar@imperialpearl.com

Sonny Sethi, Tara & Sons, Inc., fundraising chairman & past president, sonny@tarapearls.com

Fran Mastoloni, Mastoloni Pearls, foreign relations chair & past president, fran@mastoloni.com