The Young Chronicle: For Grade 3 May 16th, 2015 - Page 6

Times Sports Award The Times of India organized its first ever sports award to pay tribute and honor the Indian sports persons on May 7, 2015 at New Delhi. The event aimed to acknowledge sports personalities of the country from all fields. The winners were chosen by the people as well as the jury. Some winners were selected by people through voting and some were recognized by the Jury panel. The Juries of Times of India Sports Awards 2015 include sports legends like hockey player Zafar Iqbal, cricketer Sourav Ganguly, Athlete Anju Bobby George and tennis player Ramesh Krishnan. Among the long list of awardees, Milkha Singh received the Lifetime Achievement Award. Saina Nehwal, the badminton player was awarded the Youth icon award. The shooter Jitu Rai won the jury’s choice sports person of the, while Pankaj Advan, the billiards player was honored with people’s choice sports person of the year. M C Mary Kom, was honored with the Mahindra Scorpio Tough & Rugged award, along with other boxers: Sarita Devi and Devendro Singh. The other sports personalities chosen by the jury include the badminton player- Pusarla Venkata, football player Sunil Chetri, tennis player Sania Mirza, Sreejesh Ravindran and Rani Rampal for hockey, Achanta Sharath for table tennis, Vishwanathan Anand for chess, Golf player Anirban Lahiri, squash player Dipika Pallikal, Harmanpreet Kaur and Virat Kohli for cricket, Sathish Sivalingam for weight lifting, Vikas Gowda for athletics and wrestler Yogeshwar Dutt. The popular choice awardees included badminton player Parupalli Kashyap, football player Bala Devi, Ankita