The Mirror, December 2018 The Mirror, December 2018

December, 2018 The 2018-2020 Executive Committee  Getting Ready for Ottawa  Graduate Student Awards  Undergraduate Page  Banff Conference Memories  Meet our Members  Membership Directory  Committees and Liaisons  and more… President: Dr. Raymond Lee Secretary-Treasurer: Raymond Lee September in Ottawa! A Huge Thank You to our 2018 Annual Conference Sponsors Sustaining Sponsors Gold Sponsors Silver Sponsors The 2019 Annual Conference will take place at the Delta Hotels Ottawa City Centre on September 19-20-21. A pre-course on Motivational Interviewing (MI) will be offered on Thursday September 19, as well as a Symposium by our Sustaining Sponsor, NuSmile. Details will be sent to all members in the New Year. Registration will begin at the end of January. Ottawa started off as Bytown in 1826, named after the British engineer who supervised the construction of the Rideau Canal. The name was changed to Ottawa in 1855 after the River, which had taken its name from the Algonquin First Nation word “Adawe” meaning ‘to trade”. In 1857, Queen Victoria chose Ottawa as the new capital for the Province of Canada and in 1867, with Confederation, it became the Nation’s Capital. Today, mingled with Gothic-Revival Parliament Buildings, are fascinating museums, dazzling architecture, historic buildings, parks, walkways, bicycle paths, Embassy Row, the Rideau Canal Locks and of course those amazing views of the Ottawa River. Vice President: Dr. Jennifer MacLellan Secretary- Treasurer: Dr. Gregory Westman Immediate Past President: Dr. Paul Andrews Executive Director: Dr. Ross Anderson Parliamen- tarian: Dr. Robert Barsky Parliamentarian: Ross Anderson