The Fox Focus Fall/Winter 2017 | Page 13

Research HONORING GROUNDBREAKING RESEARCHERS by CHERYL BLOWERS The Bachmann-Strauss Prize for Excellence in Dystonia Research and the Robert A. Pritzker Prize will be awarded in November. The Michael J. Fox Foundation (MJFF) annually awards two major research prizes to scientific leaders whose work has transformed research of Parkinson’s disease and dystonia (the third most common movement disorder). The prizes, which are each accompanied by a $100,000 grant, will be conferred upon the recipients at a November 11 event in New York City. The Bachmann-Strauss Prize for Excellence in Dystonia Research aims to broaden public awareness and recognize key scientific discoveries in dystonia. The prize was established in 2014 with a leadership commitment from the Bachmann-Strauss Dystonia and Parkinson Foundation (BSDPF). The prize builds on a 10-year working relationship between the foundations, including BSDPF founder and current MJFF Board member Bonnie Strauss. The Robert A. Pritzker Prize for Leadership in Parkinson’s Research is named in honor of the renowned industrialist, entrepreneur and philanthropist and honors scientists who have made vital contributions to PD research and who mentor others in the field. It is supported by his daughter, Karen Pritzker, and her husband, Michael Vlock. The prize is designed by renowned artist and person with Parkinson’s Tom Shannon. As this newsletter was going to print, the Foundation was saddened to hear of Michael Vlock’s passing. Coming soon: Look for our video showcasing the 2017 prize recipients and their impact on neurodegenerative disease research. FIND YOUR CLINICAL TRIAL “MATCH” Fox Trial Finder is our online matching tool that lets you search for Parkinson’s studies recruiting worldwide. Anyone, including those without PD, can participate to help accelerate research. Enroll now at 13 Fall/Winter 2017