The Fort Issue 12 June 2022 - Page 9

9

FEATURE

Derek O' Malley

What is five syllables long and looking forward to joining VIS? Answer: Derek O’Malley.

Hello from Rabat, Morocco! My family, including two soon-to-be elementary students at VIS, has been in Morocco for the past six years. Prior to that, my wife and I were in South Korea, Cambodia, USA, Denmark, Uganda, and Sweden. On my own, I have also lived in Kenya, Romania, and Ireland. I am originally from the United States

and after beginning my teaching career in London, I then moved to Shanghai and onto Jakarta, where I have been with my family for the past 9 years. However the most important thing to know about me is that I am a true Christmas Elf! I cannot wait to visit the annual markets and celebrate the festivities with my two maltese terrier dogs; Bozo and Tinkerbell. They are so looking forward to coming back to their homeland!

States and grew up in the mountains of the state of Colorado. I am the youngest of six children, an uncle to twelve, and a vaguely humorous friend to many. When I was in high school, I completed the IB DP, then studied international affairs for my undergrad, international development for my first master’s, and finally received a master’s of education. I enjoy engaging with and teaching the social sciences, traveling, reading, and staring into the middle distance so as to appear contemplative.

Daria Zlotnikova

I am originally from Belarus, but I have spent 10 years of my life in England. I have taught children from 2 to 9 years old and I am very excited to return to teaching one of my favourite age groups – 4-year-olds. I can’t wait to meet my crew to start exploring, learning and playing together! I love making things, experimenting, mixing and matching art and craft techniques creating all sorts of weird and wonderful art objects.