Rice Economics Fall 2016 Newsletter - Page 2

RISE Day 2016 On April 25, 2016, the Rice Economics Department held its inaugural RISE Day Award Luncheon, its annual celebration to recognize outstanding achievements by undergraduate and graduate students and exemplary teaching by Economics faculty. Director of Undergraduate Studies George Zodrow, Director of Graduate Studies Hülya Eraslan, and newly appointed Dean of Social Sciences Antonio Merlo presided over a catered lunch and award ceremony for award winners and invited guests, including many alumni and community leaders. 2016 Undergraduate RISE Day Award Winners The Gaston Rimlinger Prize Tanya Rajan Malcolm Gillis Award in Economics Sarah Hodges-Copple Malcolm Gillis Award in Mathematical Economic Analysis James Yuan RISE Award in Economics Alex Alexander RISE Award in Mathematical Economic Analysis Yize Zhao The Peter Mieszkowski Prize for Honors Program Research  Jan Dudek Maggie Shi The Baker Institute Public Policy Essay Prize Sean Leong New Members of Omicron Delta Epsilon At the RISE ceremony, 20 students were inducted into the Economics Honor Society, Omicron Delta Epsilon, which is one of the world’s largest academic honor societies with n