Professional Sound - April 2023 | Page 17

Audio Engineering Society Receives Technical GRAMMY Award
The Audio Engineering Society ( AES ) was presented with a prestigious Technical GRAMMY Award during GRAMMY Week 2023 . AES President Bruce Olson and AES President-Elect Leslie Gaston-Bird accepted the Special Merit Award on behalf of the Society during a ceremony held by the Recording Academy on Saturday , Feb . 4 , 2023 , at the Wilshire Ebell Theatre in Los Angeles .
This Special Merit Award is presented by vote of the Producers & Engineers Wing Advisory Council and Chapter Committees , and ratification by the Recording Academy ’ s National Trustees to individuals and / or companies / organizations / institutions who have made contributions of outstanding technical significance to the recording field .
In addition to the Society ’ s Technical GRAMMY Award , current AES members on the Recording Academy ’ s 2023 GRAMMY Awards recipients list are mastering engineer Bob Ludwig for his contribution to the Best Historical Album winner , Yankee Hotel Foxtrot ( 20th Anniversary Super Deluxe Edition ) ( Wilco ); immersive mix engineer Eric Schilling and immersive producer Herbert Waltl for their roles on the Best Immersive Audio Album winner , Divine Tides ( Stewart Copeland & Ricky Kej ); and engineers Shawn Murphy and Charlie Post and
AES PRESIDENT-ELECT LESLIE GASTON-BIRD ( LEFT ) AND PRESIDENT BRUCE OLSON mastering engineer Michael Romanowski for their work on the Best Engineered Album Classical winner , Bates : “ Philharmonia Fantastique — The Making Of The Orchestra ” ( Edwin Outwater & Chicago Symphony Orchestra ).
The Society also acknowledges the many AES members who contributed to and were credited on Award-winning recordings in GRAM- MY ® artist-focused nomination categories . Their contributions to the audio arts are appreciated by their fellow members and music lovers worldwide .
For the latest AES news , events , and membership opportunities , visit https :// aes2 . org /.