Pickleball Magazine 3-4 WD | Page 25

Q A & with the RULES GURU By Christine Barksdale USAPA Managing Director of Athletic Competition Q: Dear Guru, I hope this is a rare occasion and does not really need to be addressed. During a recent singles match, I attempted to hit the ball during my serve but completely missed. How embarrassing! Is that considered a side out or do I get another chance? In golf, if your intention was to hit the ball and you missed it, it is considered a stroke. A: While it may seem rare to completely miss the ball during the service motion, it does happen! It occurs so often that 4.M.3 specifically addresses this situation. Much like golf’s rule, if the server misses the ball when trying to hit it, it is a fault. In your singles example, it would also be a side out. advice coaching? “ go team ” ” “ use your lob “ nice shot ” We’d Like to Hear From You! Submit your questions to [email protected]. Q: Dear Guru, I was playing in a match without referees. My opponent called the score “5-7” when they were really up 7-5. I raised my paddle to stop the point. My opponent did not notice and served the ball. I caught it, telling him that the score called was incorrect. He proceeded to tell me that he called “7-5” and that they were taking this point since I caught the ball. They said a returner cannot become “unready.” Is this true? A: While it is true that a player cannot become unready (Rule 4.C.2.), the player was not committing a fault by catching the ball before returning it to correct the score IF the score was called incorrectly (Rule 4.K.1.). However, in a match without a referee it is the server’s word against the receiver’s word. Without a referee present or other valid way to prove how the score was called, refer to Rule 4.E.3., “A receiver who attempts to return a serve shall be considered to have been ready, whether or not contact with the ball was made.” Since no effort was made, and as a show of good sportsmanship, replaying the point is an appropriate solution. If, however, the receiver had returned the ball then decided to stop play, that would be a fault and a point issued to the server (Rule 4.K.3.). Q: Dear Guru, I was at a tournament cheering on a friend. At one point, I yelled to her, “Feet, feet, move your feet,” to encourage her, as she was very fatigued. The opposing team said, “That’s coaching.” When does encouragement become coaching? Would my comment be considered coaching? A: Great question and, yes, sometimes it can be tricky to know what would constitute coaching. Giving advice, like “Move your feet,” “Use your lob,” “Call a time-out,” would be considered coaching. Encouragement is more like cheering, e.g., “Nice shot,” “Way to go,” “Go team,” etc. See Rule 11.N. for details. • JULY/AUGUST 2018 | MAGAZINE 23