Parent Teacher Magazine Gaston County Public Schools May/June 2017 | Page 4

The annual Star Teacher- Student Awards ceremony presented by Gaston County Schools and sponsored by The Gaston Gazette was held Thursday , April 6 at the Schiele Museum .
Each high school and Webb Street School selected an outstanding senior in the Class of 2017 and that student chose a teacher who had the greatest influence on his or her life . Each Star Student honored his or her Star Teacher during the ceremony by reading an essay about the teacher .
Star Teacher-Student Awards program Superintendent of Schools W . Jeffrey Booker stated : “ The Star Teachers are outstanding educators who have motivated our Star Students and numerous others to be the best they can be . These teachers help students to gain the knowledge , skills , courage , and self-confidence needed to reach their potential , and most important , they inspire success .”
Booker continued : “ The Star Students are the ‘ best of the best ’ in the Class of 2017 . Their academic records , their leadership in extracurricular activities , and their service to the community exceeds expectations . They have received numerous awards and accolades during their high school career , and they plan to attend college next year to major in areas such as biology , engineering , biochemistry , nursing , and math education . We are going to hear about great things from these young people – they are our future leaders .”
Gaston County Board of Education member Dot Guthrie and Will MacDonald , lifestyles editor of The Gaston Gazette , shared special remarks during the ceremony .
Star Students honor Star Teachers at ceremony
Below are the Star Teachers and Star Students for the Class of 2017 . To read the essay written by each Star Student , click on the name of the school .
Ashbrook High School – Star Teacher Chad McAlister selected by Star Student Caroline Womack
Bessemer City High School – Star Teacher Bob Felker selected by Star Student Christopher Turner
Cherryville High School – Star Teacher Angela Long selected by Star Student Eevie Johnson
Stuart W . Cramer High School – Star Teacher Johnny Norton selected by Star Student Connor Paschall
East Gaston High School – Star Teacher Melissa McDaniel selected by Star Student Jameson Bodenheimer
Forestview High School – Star Teacher John Hall selected by Star Student Maren East
Gaston Early College High School – Star Teacher Laura
Sexton selected by Star Student Madison Knowles Highland School of Technology – Star Teacher Martha Maxwell selected by Star Student Caroline Bolt Hunter Huss High School – Star Teacher Sara Dodson selected by Star
Student Taylor Wilson North Gaston High School – Star Teacher Jennifer Reed selected by
Star Student Kinlee Pruitt South Point High School – Star Teacher Timothy Hamilton selected by
Star Student Melanie Beam Webb Street School – Star Teacher Christine Tileston selected by Star
Student Jarell Carothers
Congratulations to the teachers who achieved National Board Certification in 2016-2017 , the following educators earned their 10-year renewal of national certification :
• Diana Baxter , Lowell Elementary
• Jennifer Christy , Carr Elementary
• Amelia Clemmons , Holbrook Middle
• Lisa Creech , Bessemer City Middle
• Sarah Crisp , Brookside Elementary
• Deborah Crone , Forestview High
• Samantha Gibby , Bessemer City Primary
• Melissa Glover , South Point High
• Donna Griffith , W . A . Bess Elementary
• Teresa Harrill , Cherryville Elementary
• Millicent Heavner , Tryon Elementary
• Melissa Pruitt , Belmont Middle
• Sarah Putnam , Bessemer City Primary
• Janet Ramsey , Forestview High
• Tim Reed , East Gaston High
• Jennifer Rhodes , Catawba Heights Elementary
• Melanie Ross Sherrill , Cherryville Elementary
• Carolyn Sanders , Grier Middle
• Stephanie Stowe , Stuart W . Cramer High
• Nancy Taliaferro , Highland School of Technology
• Sharon Tolley , North Belmont Elementary
• Melanie Weaver , Highland School of Technology
• Jamee Webb , Highland School of Technology
• Linda Wiegert , H . H . Beam Elementary
• Cynthia Wilson , W . A . Bess Elementary
Congratulations to our National Board Certified Teachers !
2 • May / June • Parent Teacher Magazine