Overture Magazine - 2018-19 Season BSO_Overture_JanFeb_19 | Page 9

ORCHESTRA ROSTER 2018–19 SEASON MARIN ALSOP, MUSIC DIRECTOR, HARVEY M. AND LYN P. MEYERHOFF CHAIR Jack Everly, Principal Pops Conductor Markus Stenz, Principal Guest Conductor Nicholas Hersh, Associate Conductor and Artistic Director of BSYO FIRST VIOLINS CELLOS Jonathan Carney ∫ Concertmaster, Ruth Blaustein Rosenberg Chair Audrey Wright † Associate Concertmaster, Wilhelmina Hahn Waidner Chair Wyatt Underhill* Assistant Concertmaster Boram Kang Acting Assistant Concertmaster Kenneth Goldstein Holly Jenkins Wonju Kim Gregory Kuperstein Gregory Mulligan E. Craig Richmond Kevin Smith Ellen Pendleton Troyer Andrew Wasyluszko Jina Lee** Dariusz Skoraczewski † ∫ Principal, Joseph and Rebecca Meyerhoff Chair Lachezar Kostov Associate Principal Bo Li ∫ Seth Low Esther Mellon Kristin Ostling Se-Doo Park Lukasz Szyrner SECOND VIOLINS FLUTES Qing Li Principal, E. Kirkbride and Ann H. Miller Chair Ivan Stefanovic † Associate Principal Angela Lee ∫ Assistant Principal Leonid Berkovich Leonid Briskin Julie Parcells Sunjoo Park Christina Scroggins* James Umber Charles Underwood VIOLAS Lisa Steltenpohl ∫ Principal, Peggy Meyerhoff Pearlstone Chair Noah Chaves Associate Principal Karin Brown Assistant Principal Jacob Shack Helen Hess Peter Minkler Colin Sorgi Delmar Stewart Jeffrey Stewart Mary Woehr BASSES Robert Barney Principal, Willard and Lillian Hackerman Chair David Sheets Associate Principal Timothy Dilenschneider* Mark Huang Jonathan Jensen Eric Stahl Drew Banzhaf ** Emily Skala Principal, Dr. Clyde Alvin Clapp Chair Marcia Kämper PICCOLO Amal Gochenour OBOES Katherine Needleman Principal, Robert H. and Ryda H. Levi Chair Melissa Hooper Assistant Principal Michael Lisicky ENGLISH HORN Jane Marvine Kenneth S. Battye and Legg Mason Chair CLARINETS YaoGuang Zhai Principal Lin Ma* Assistant Principal BASS CLARINET E-FLAT CLARINET Lin Ma* BASSOONS Harrison Miller** Acting Principal Bassoon Julie Green Gregorian Assistant Principal Schuyler Jackson CONTRABASSOON David P. Coombs HORNS Philip Munds Principal, USF&G Foundation Chair Gabrielle Finck Associate Principal Lisa Bergman Austin Larson Joy Branagan** TRUMPETS Andrew Balio Principal, Harvey M. and Lyn P. Meyerhoff Chair René Shapiro Assistant Principal Nathaniel Hepler Matthew Barker TROMBONES Aaron LaVere Principal, Alex Brown & Sons Chair John Vance Assistant Principal Daniel Cloutier** PERCUSSION Christopher Williams Principal, Lucille Schwilck Chair John Locke Brian Prechtl Ford Musician Awardee HARP Sarah Fuller** Acting Principal KEYBOARD Lura Johnson** Sidney M. and Miriam Friedberg Chair ORCHESTRA PERSONNEL Jinny Kim Director of Orchestra Personnel Matthew Urquhart Assistant Personnel Manager LIBRARIANS Michael Ferraguto Principal, Constance A. and Ramon F. Getzov Chair Raymond Kreuger Associate STAGE PERSONNEL Randall S. Campora Ennis Seibert Stage Manager Todd Price Assistant Stage Manager Charles Lamar Audio Engineer Mario Serruto Electrician TUBA * On leave BASS TROMBONE Aubrey Foard Principal TIMPANI James Wyman Principal, Levi Family Chair Christopher Williams Assistant Principal William Jenken ** Guest musician Performing with an instrument (†) or a bow (∫) on loan to the BSO from the private collection of the family of Marin Alsop. The musicians who perform for the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra do so under the terms of an agreement between the BSO and the Local 40-543, AFM. Yuri Temirkanov, Music Director Emeritus Hilo Carriel, BSO-Peabody Conducting Fellow MUSIC DIRECTOR Marin Alsop Marin Alsop is an inspiring voice who believes that “music has the power to change lives.” She is recognized for her innovative programming and for her commitment to education and to the development of audiences of all ages. Her success as Music Director of the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra (BSO) has been recognized by the extension of her tenure until 2021. In Baltimore, Alsop launched OrchKids, for the city’s underserved youth, and the BSO Academy program for adult amateur musicians. She became Music Director of the São Paulo Symphony Orchestra in 2012 and becomes Chief Conductor of the ORF Vienna Radio Symphony Orchestra in September 2019. Alsop conducts the world’s major orchestras, including the Leipzig Gewandhaus, Royal Concertgebouw and the London Philharmonic orchestras. In 2013, she became the first female conductor of the BBC’s Last Night of the Proms. As a protégé of Leonard Bernstein, Alsop was central to his 100 th -anniversary celebrations, and conducted Bernstein’s MASS at the Ravinia Festival, where she served as Musical Curator for 2018. Her extensive discography includes a highly praised Dvořák cycle with the BSO. Her dedication to new music is demonstrated by her 25-year tenure as Music Director of the Cabrillo Festival of Contemporary Music and her launching the BSO’s New Music Festival in 2017. Alsop is the only conductor to receive the MacArthur Fellowship, and she is Director of Graduate Conducting at the Peabody Institute. She attended the Juilliard School and Yale University, which awarded her an Honorary Doctorate in 2017. JA N – F E B 201 9 / OV E R T U R E 7