Nuutajärven lasikylä | Nuutajärvi Glass Village English | Page 18

Step by step towards the present

The ownership of Finland ’ s oldest glass village has changed several times during its history . Glassblowing has been continuous since establishment in 1793 . The founder of the glassworks , Jacob Wilhelm de Pont , was not in the end interested in running the operations himself , so after a few years he handed ownership over to his business partner , Harald Furuhjelm . The next significant owner was Adolf Törngren in 1851 , who only participated in the operations for less than ten years but achieved a lot during that time . The era of corporate ownership started in 1950 , when Wärtsilä Yhtymä bought the glass factory . The owners have also included Ahlström , Hackman , Iittala and Fiskars .