Municipal Monitor Q1 2017 | Page 5

President ’ s Message
2016 – 17 AMCTO Board of Directors
Stephane Palmateer , AMCT President City of Timmins
Christopher Wray , AMCT Immediate Past President Municipality of Wawa
Yvonne Robert , CMO , AMCT Vice President / Director at Large Township of Elizabethtown-Kitley
John Hannam , CMO Director at Large City of Thunder Bay
Marsha Paley , CMO Director at Large Municipality of North Middlesex
Robert Tremblay , CMO , Dipl . M . A . Director at Large Municipality of Meaford
Michelle Casavecchia-Somers , CMO Zone 1 Board Director Township of Malahide
Pamela Fettes , CMO , Dipl . M . A . Zone 2 Board Director Township of Clearview
Angela Morgan , CMO Zone 3 Board Director City of Burlington
Stephen Huycke Zone 4 Board Director Town of Richmond Hill

Lessons From Japan in Local Government

Japanese municipalities include a focus on healthy living

Since my last article I had the honour and pleasure of representing AMCTO as a delegate of the Local Government Exchange and Cooperation Seminar hosted by the Council of Local Authorities for International Relations ( CLAIR ). The study tour consisted of 11 days spent between Tokyo and Shizuoka City in Japan and the theme of the tour was how local government can promote healthy living for all ages .

By Stephane Palmateer , AMCT , President , AMCTO
It was truly a once-in-a-lifetime experience to get a first-hand look at how other local governments operate and manage their affairs in another country , while also being provided with an opportunity to learn about and explore the amazing culture and history of the Japanese people . The first few days of the study tour were spent in Tokyo where we were briefed on the Japanese local government system at the CLAIR headquarters . This
“ The local government of Shizuoka City cares for and manages its residents ’ health , starting with the care of children from infancy , right through the educational system and up to the care of their senior citizens .”
Elana Arthurs , CMO Zone 5 Board Director Township of Cavan Monaghan
Dean Sauriol , CMO , Dipl . M . M . Zone 6 Board Director Township of Laurentian Valley
Carol Trainor , AMCT Zone 7 Board Director Township of St . Joseph
Amy Vickery-Menard , CMO Zone 8 Board Director Township of Evanturel
Nattee Chalermtiragool / bigstockphoto . com
Municipal Monitor 3