Lab Matters Summer 2017 | Page 37

member spotlight Annual Meeting 2017: Public Health in Providence Showing PHL Pride More than 700 participants attended the 2017 APHL Annual Meeting and Eleventh Government Environmental Laboratory Conference held in Providence, RI form June 11-14, 2017. Members discussed how laboratories could remain prepared while facing tests on many fronts, with sessions on next generation sequencing, infectious diseases, environmental health, informatics, legalized marijuana, biomonitoring, food safety, newborn screening, emergency preparedness and policy. Isaac Ashkenazi, an international expert on crisis management and leadership, presented the Dr. Katherine Kelly Distinguished Lecture. APHL honored its 2017 award winners at a breakfast on Tuesday. To learn more about the awards and the winners, visit Lifetime Achievement Award • Dr. Michele Caggana, director of the Newborn Screening Program, Wadsworth Center • Dr. Bala Swaminathan, executive vice president, IHRC, Inc. Gold Standard Award • Dr. Kimberlee Musser, director of the Bacteriology Laboratory, Wadsworth Center Silver Award • Dr. David Warshauer, deputy director of the Communicable Disease Division, Wisconsin State Laboratory of Hygiene Leadership in Biosafety and Biosecurity Award • Dr. Christina Egan, director of the biodefense laboratory, Wadsworth Center • Dr. Michael Pentella, clinical professor, Epidemiology Department, University of Iowa Thomas E. Maxson Education, Training and Workforce Development Award • Susanne Zanto, deputy laboratory director, Montana Public Health Laboratory Emerging Leader Award Presidential Award • Rebecca Sciulli, Laboratory Preparedness and Response Program manager, State Laboratories Division, Hawaii State Department of Health • Kelly Wroblewski, director of infectious diseases, Association of Public Health Laboratories (APHL) • Erin Bowles, WI Clinical Laboratory Network (WCLN) coordinator, Wisconsin State Laboratory of Hygiene On the Front Line Award • Dr. Donald Sharp, associate director, Food Safety Office, National Center for Emerging and Zoonotic Infectious Diseases, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) DIGITAL EXTRA: Healthiest Laboratory Award Click here to see photos from the 2017 Annual Meeting. • City of Milwaukee Health Department Laboratory n PublicHealthLabs It’s been a rough few months for science and science-based professions, so APHL encouraged members to share their best public health moments with other Annual Meeting attendees. “This year our meeting theme was to make headway on science policy in a climate that’s particularly challenging,” said Executive Director Scott Becker in an interview with Associations Now. “Our members needed a morale booster.” Not only did the whiteboard reinforce meeting themes, but it brought the focus back to the reasons why many members got involved in public health. @APHL Summer 2017 LAB MATTERS 35