INVISIBLE AIRWAVES Issue #051 - Dropout Kings . Max Tolkoff | Page 14

with Josh T. Landow

with Josh T. Landow

The SubModern Report is a weekly look at the most played singles and albums across 50+ specialty shows airing on ALT radio..

Visit for expanded editorial content & chart information.

For more detailed airplay information,

contact Josh T. Landow for tracking info and rates.

week ending


We send a big "Congratulations!" to Arlo Parks on pulling the coveted #1 double dip with her forthcoming sophomore album My Soft Machine making its first appearance thanks to the debut of second single "Impurities" joining lingering spins for "Weightless." The new track is tied however on the singles chart with another big #1 debut from the #1 SubModern artist of 2022, Momma, who have followed up last year's Household Name with the new tune "Bang Bang." Congrats to them as well!

The next three singles, all tied at #3, are debuts from Portugal. The Man with "Dummy," Sir Chloe with "Hooves" and Slow Pulp with "Cramps." That brings us all the way to #6, where Hannah Jadagu stands alone with "What You Did." There's another three-way tie at #7 between "Over" from CHVRCHES, "Sofa King" from Royel Otis, and "Heaven Surrounds Us Like A Hood" from Yves Tumor. Then at #10 is yet another three-way tie, this one featuring "Not Strong Enough" by boygenius, "Pistol" by Cigarettes After Sex, and "Barley" by Water From Your Eyes.

Many of the same names populate the albums chart this week, starting with Aussies Royel Otis at #2 with their upcoming Sofa Kings EP. Hannah Jadagu's Aperture and Yves Tumor's Praise A Lord Who Chews But Which Does Not Consume; (Or Simply, Hot Between Worlds) follow, tied for #3. Death Valley Girls didn't have a top ten single but airplay for a bunch of tracks from their new record Islands In The Sky lands them at #5 here. The Record from the aforementioned boygenius is tied at #6 with The Hypnogogue, the twenty-sixth album from The Church. Finally we have our first three-way tie of albums to close the top ten at #8 between Shook from Algiers, Cracker Island from Gorillaz, and Fantasy from M83.