Intelligent CISO Issue 13 - Page 32

LYNCHPIN MEDIA TEAM MANAGEMENT MANAGING PARTNER Richard Judd richard@lynchpinmedia.co.uk +44 7534 132 966 MANAGING PARTNER Stuart Lynch stuart@lynchpinmedia.co.uk +44 7514 807 117 EDITORIAL MANAGING EDITOR AND EDITOR, INTELLIGENT CIO ME AND INTELLIGENT TECH CHANNELS Mark Bowen mark@lynchpinmedia.co.uk +44 20 3884 2225 EDITOR, INTELLIGENT CISO AND INTELLIGENT DATA CENTRES Jess Phillips jess@lynchpinmedia.co.uk +44 203 890 4069 EDITOR, INTELLIGENT CIO EUROPE Alix Pressley alix@lynchpinmedia.co.uk +44 20 3884 2225 EDITOR, INTELLIGENT CIO AFRICA Paul Rogers paul@lynchpinmedia.co.uk +44 20 3890 4084 EDITOR, INTELLIGENT CIO INDIA Partha Srinivasan partha@lynchpinmedia.co.uk +91 909 681 6957 DESIGN HEAD OF DESIGN AND PRODUCTION Pippa Sanderson pippa@lynchpinmedia.co.uk HEAD OF DIGITAL SERVICES Charles Brandreth charles@lynchpinmedia.co.uk WEB AND GRAPHIC DESIGNER Josh Peace josh@lynchpinmedia.co.uk JUNIOR GRAPHIC DESIGNER Lorna Murphy lorna@lynchpinmedia.co.uk SALES & MARKETING COMMERCIAL DIRECTOR Michal Zylinski michal@lynchpinmedia.co.uk +48 883 746 917 SALES MANAGER Amy Poole amy@lynchpinmedia.co.uk +971 52 883 0211 MARKETING AND OPERATIONS MANAGER Curtis Driscoll curtis@lynchpinmedia.co.uk +44 20 3884 2536 COUNTRY PARTNERS COUNTRY MANAGER – KUWAIT Rajesh Gandhi rajesh@lynchpinmedia.co.uk +965 6601 3056 COUNTRY MANAGER – KUWAIT Feroz Tapiya feroz@lynchpinmedia.co.uk +965 6616 6052 COUNTRY MANAGER – INDIA Partha Srinivasan partha@nchpinmedia.co.uk +91 909 681 6957 Lynchpin Media © 2019 Intelligent CISO is a Lynchpin Media publication for IT security professionals with an interest in global events. If you wish to subscribe for regular copies, then please email: info@lynchpinmedia.co.uk 32 Lynchpin Media is a boutique publisher registered in the United Kingdom. Company number 8096230 5 Burnside Court Leominster Enterprise Park Herefordshire HR6 0LX editor’s note H ello and welcome to the latest edition of Intelligent CISO. This month we welcome Mark Walmsley, CISO at global law firm Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer, to the cover. He talks us through his approach to tackling the cyberskills shortage and highlights some of the challenges he encounters in his role, offering a unique end user insight into life as a CISO. We put the spotlight on a vertical which is frequently targeted by cybercriminals – banking and finance – in this month’s Industry Unlocked feature. Gerald Beuchelt, CISO, LogMeIn, discusses the steps that those operating within this industry vertical can take to strengthen defences and step up their enterprise security. As intelligent technologies such as Machine Learning, Artificial Intelligence and Deep Learning continue to transform the cybersecurity landscape, it’s crucial that businesses get to grips with just what they mean to avoid getting lost in the hype. In our first feature in this edition, industry experts discuss both the challenges and benefits of these technologies for CISOs and security professionals facing the modern, sophisticated adversaries. Organisations which do not have a robust email security strategy in place risk both financial and reputational damage. We hear from Jeff Ogden, General Manager – Middle East, Mimecast, in our Expert Opinion, who talks about how CISOs can protect their organisations from email threats. Meanwhile, Carolyn Crandall, Chief Deception Officer at Attivo Networks, talks to us about how deception technology can help enterprises even the playing field of cyberwarfare with a proactive approach to security in this edition’s Decrypting Myths section. As always, we also have a round-up of all the latest news in the cybersecurity sector, while our ‘intelligent’ brands section looks at what’s new in mobile, software, cloud, network, data and physical security. I hope you enjoy the magazine and if you’d like to contribute to any future issues please do not hesitate to contact me at jess@lynchpinmedia.co.uk Jess Phillips Editor Issue 13 | www.intelligentciso.com