IASC 25 years - Page 80

to make them function. Fortunately IASC has been Fütterer, and Byong-Kwon Park spent many hours blessed with colleagues with vision and who are in thought, writing and travelling on behalf of the also committed movers and shakers. I am confident Committee. I was preceded by the thoughtful and that the growing strength of IASC as an organiza- perceptive David Drewry who led the first IASC re- tion makes it second to none. view and I was followed by Kristján Kristjánsson who took IASC to a new level with the second re- None of these accomplishments would have been view and into active participation in IPY. I salute possible without the brilliance, mentoring, industry, their leadership and volunteerism. and dedication of Odd Rogne and my colleagues on the Executive Committee. I thank and acknowledge I endeavored to contribute positively to IASC´s early the counsel and support of the Executive Commit- years. It was an honor to serve my science commu- tee, the Council, and dozens of active scientists nity and to be the first recipient of the IASC Med- and science leaders. In particular, Peter Johnson, al in 2010. I look forward to the 25th Anniversary Louwrens Hacquebord, Kristján Kristjánsson, Dieter celebrations of IASC. Orientation during the Juneau Icefield Research Program in Alaska, 2012 Photo: Allen Pope 79 03 Contributions of Former IASC Presidents