IASC 25 years - Page 53

Table 1 The Working Group themes, as developed by the List of ICARP II Sponsors - Arctic Council Indigenous Peoples Secretariat Conference Steering Committee with broad input - Arctic Monitoring and Assessment from the conference sponsors, were: Programme (AMAP) - Conservation of Arctic Flora and Fauna WG 1: (CAFF) Sustainable Development and Arctic Economies - European Polar Board (EPB) (Chairs: Henry Huntington and Gorm Winther) - International Arctic Social Sciences WG 2: Association (IASSA) Indigenous Peoples and Change in the Arctic: - International Geosphere-Biosphere Adaptation, Adjustment and Empowerment (Chair: Jens Dahl) WG 3: Coastal Processes (Chairs: Volker Rachold and Christopher Cogan) WG 4: Program (IGBP) - International Human Dimensions of Global Environmental Change Programme - International Permafrost Association (IPA) - Northern Forum (NF) - Nordic Polar Group - Northern Research Forum (NRF) Deep Central Basin in the Arctic Ocean - University of the Arctic (UArctic) (Chair: Bernie Coakley) - World Climate Research Programme WG 5: (WCRP) Arctic Ocean Margins and Gateways - World Wide Fund for Nature (WWFN) (Chair: Jackie Grebmeier) WG 6: Arctic Shelf Seas (Chair: Heidi Kassens) The goal of the process leading up to the confer- WG 7: ence was the development of clear research plans Terrestrial Cryosphere and Hydrologic Processes evolving from the discussion of critical questions and Systems identified by each working group. The working (Chair: Terry Prowse) groups were responsible for identifying several pri- WG 8: ority questions that needed to be addressed over Terrestrial & Freshwater Biosphere and Biodiversity the next 10-15 years. They were asked to design (Chairs: Torben Christensen and Terry Callaghan) research plans to address the critical questions and WG 9: open those plans for review and consideration prior Modeling and Predicting Arctic Weather, to and during the conference. One interesting devel- Climate and Ecosystems opment during the working group process involved (Chairs: Lennart Bengtsson and Klaus Dethloff) the inclusion of early career scientists in the plan- WG 10 : ning process. Each of the working groups included Resilience, Vulnerability, and Rapid Change active participation by early career scientists iden- (Chair: Gary Kofinas) tified to work on a specific science plan and help WG 11: with the review and evaluation of other science Sciences in the Public Interest plans. This early involvement of young scientists (Chairs: Lars Kullerud and Chris Southcott) was critical to the success of the conference, and WG 12: in some cases has led to early career scientist de- Presence and Fate of Heavy Metals, Persistent velopment of research programs which are now un- Organic Pollutants, Petroleum Hydrocarbons and derway. Most notable of these is the Arctic in Rapid Radionuclides Transitions (ART) program which was developed by (Chair: Lars-Otto Reiersen) early career scientists involved in the marine working groups. 52 00 02 IASC Initiatives