IASC 25 years | Page 2

The International Arctic Science Committee (IASC) is a non-governmental, international scientific organization, founded in 1990 by the eight Arctic countries. Over the past 25 years, IASC has evolved into the leading international science organization of the North and its membership today includes national science organizations from 22 countries involved in Arctic research. The IASC mission is to encourage and facilitate cooperation in all aspects of Arctic research, in all countries engaged in Arctic research and in all areas of the Arctic region. Editorial Team: Odd Rogne, Volker Rachold, 2 Louwrens Hacquebord and Robert Corell Language Editor: Elaine Maloney Production and Design: Ursula Heidbach Printing: www.druckereiarnold.de ISBN: 978-3-9813637-7-7 ISSN: 1654-7594 © International Arctic Science Committee 2015 International Arctic Science Committee (IASC) Telegrafenberg A43 DE - 14473 Potsdam, Germany Phone: +49 331 288 2214 E-mail: [email protected] Website: www.iasc.info Cover Photo: Mario Hoppmann Accumulations of sea-ice algae (melted into the sea ice) in a meltpond near the North Pole