Fernie & Elk Valley Culture Guide Fernie Cultural Guide FALL 2018 - Page 27

and volunteer parishioners completed this church in 1912. It was and still is home to Fernie’s largest congregation. 7  THE CROW’S NEST PASS COAL CO. OFFICES 501 3rd Avenue Now in use as City Hall In 1905, the Crow’s Nest Pass Coal Co. constructed this building as the head office to manage its expanding coal mining operations. It also housed the offices of the Crow’s Nest Pass Electric Co. and the Morrissey-Fernie- Michel Railway, subsidiaries of the coal company. Constructed in cement blocks, the building survived the 1908 Great Fire and served as a place of refuge during and after the fire. It has served as Fernie’s City Hall since 1984. Located on the grounds, The Miner’s Walk is a fascinating glimpse into Fernie’s coal mining heritage. The walk features interpretive panels, sculpture, challenges for children, ironwork art from the Fernie Forge and municipal garden with picnic tables and benches. Mayor Giuliano welcomes visitors. 8  THE FERNIE POST OFFICE AND CUSTOMS OFFICE 492 3rd Avenue | Now in use as the Fernie Heritage Library This imposing Romanesque Revival building reflects Fernie’s importance as a government centre for the region; the engraved stone signs above the entrance to the Post Office and Customs Office are still in place. The building, for a time, served as the U