Dialogue Volume 15, Issue 3 2019 - Page 68

COUNCIL MEMBERS ABOUT COUNCIL Council is the governing body of the College. The Regulated Health Professions Act stipulates that it consist of at least 32 and no more than 34 members including: • 16 physicians elected by their peers on a geographical basis every three years; • physicians appointed from among the six faculties of medicine (at the Western University, McMaster University, Uni- versity of Toronto, Queen’s University, University of Ottawa, and the Northern Ontario School of Medicine); • no fewer than 13 and no more than 15 non-physician or ‘public’ members appointed by the provincial government for terms decided by the government. Both medical faculty members and public members may be re-appointed at the end of their terms. Elected members may not serve more than three terms (nine con- secutive years). The College President is elected from and by Council and serves a one-year term. Council members sit on one or more committees of the College. Each commit- tee has specific functions, most of which are governed by provincial legislation. General Council meetings are held four times a year to review the activities of the College and debate and vote upon mat- ters of general policy. Council meetings are open to the public and are held in the 3rd floor Council Chamber at 80 College Street, Toronto. For more information about the actions, processes and structures by which the mandate of the College is fulfilled, please refer to the Governance Process Manual available at www.cpso.on.ca under About Us>Council and Committees. DISTRICT REPRESENTATIVES 1. Dr. Deborah Hellyer Windsor, Ontario 4. Dr. Brenda Copps Hamilton, Ontario 7. Dr. Sarah Reid Ottawa, Ontario 10. Dr. Philip Berger Toronto, Ontario 2. Dr. Rob Gratton London, Ontario 5. Dr. Elizabeth Samson Courtice, Ontario 7. Dr. Judith Plante Pembroke, Ontario 10. Dr. Patrick Safieh Toronto, Ontario 3. Dr. Jerry Rosenblum Waterloo, Ontario 5. Dr. David Rouselle Newmarket, Ontario 8. Dr. Michael Franklyn Sudbury, Ontario 10. Dr. Haidar Mahmoud Toronto, Ontario 4. Dr. Scott Wooder Stoney Creek, Ontario 6. Dr. John Rapin Kingston, Ontario 9. Dr. Andrew Turner Thunder Bay, Ontario 10. Dr. Peeter Poldre Toronto, Ontario PUBLIC COUNCIL MEMBERS APPOINTED BY LIEUTENANT-GOVERNOR Ms. Hilary Alexander Toronto, Ontario Mr. Pierre Giroux Toronto, Ontario Mr. Paul Malette Toronto, Ontario Ms. Joan Powell Thunder Bay, Ontario Mr. Shahid Chaudhry Whitby, Ontario Mr. Mehdi Kanji Richmond Hill, Ontario Ms. Ellen Mary Mills Toronto, Ontario Ms. Geraldine Sparrow Toronto, Ontario Mr. Harry Erlichman , LLB Toronto, Ontario Ms. Catherine Anne Kerr Stevensville, Ontario Ms. Judy Mintz Toronto, Ontario Ms. Christine Tebbutt Mississauga, Ontario Ms. Joan Fisk Cambridge, Ontario Mr. John Langs Toronto, Ontario Mr. Peter Pielsticker Tehkummah, Ontario UNIVERSITY REPRESENTATIVES Dr. Akbar Panju McMaster University Hamilton, Ontario 68 Dr. Mary Bell University of Toronto Toronto, Ontario DIALOGUE ISSUE 3, 2019 Dr. Janet van Vlymen Queen’s University Kingston, Ontario Dr. Paul Hendry University of Ottawa Ottawa, Ontario Dr. Terri Paul Western University London, Ontario Dr. Robert Smith Northern Ontario School of Medicine Sudbury, Ontario