DelNature Annual Report 2022 | Page 2

From the Executive Director Board Staff

Dear Members , Volunteers and Friends ,
2022 was a year of transition for Delaware Nature Society , with new leadership , new staff , and new norms for how we work and deliver programs post-pandemic . Although all this transition was challenging , it was also an opportunity to thrive .
In 2022 , we leaned into our strengths , particularly our long and successful history of delivering high quality nature education programs . Post-pandemic children and families were hungry for outdoor experiences and we delivered with over 2,000 summer campers and a 68 % increase in school and group participants over 2021 .
We also leaned on each other , working together across sites and departments to regain capacity lost during the pandemic , sharing resources and filling critical gaps to bring back popular programs like Music at the Mill , and start new ones like First Fridays at the Farm . We ramped up vegetable production at Coverdale Farm , opened The Market and U-Pick fields up to the public , and increased sales at the fall native plant sale by 22 %.
We leaned into partnership , developing new ones and strengthening existing ones . In Wilmington , we collaborated with local communities and the National Wildlife Federation on a new program of creating green spaces in the city for people and pollinators . With the Delaware Environmental Accountability Coalition we worked on a bill to address the cumulative impacts of pollution and with the Delaware Land Protection Coalition succeeded in doubling funding for the state ’ s Open Space Program .
These are just a few of our proudest accomplishments in 2022 . You can read about these and others in this 2022 Annual Report , along with the financial support that made this work possible . Thriving through so much transition is a remarkable accomplishment that would not be possible without the generosity of so many , including almost 7,000 hours of volunteer time in 2022 .
Thank you !
Jen Adkins Executive Director

Strength Coordination Partnership

Delaware Nature Society envisions a healthy and sustainable environment for all .
Our mission is to connect people with the natural world to improve our environment through education , advocacy , and conservation .
Eric Brinsfield
Vice President
Dan Barbato
Adele McIntosh
Nicki Taylor
Board Members
Kristen Abessinio Michael Bard Kevin Donnelly Brad du Pont Pam Finkelman Margaretta Frederick Fred Greenewalt Marcus Henry Ellen Kohler Doug Nickel Mary Peck Dawn Rittenhouse Suzanne Smith Rick Stuckey Roland Wall Andy Wetherill Marian Young
Executive Director
Jennifer Adkins
Core Staff
Mary B Aviola , Accountant Matthew Babbitt , Director of Abbott ’ s Mindy Brown , Program Manager , Coverdale Erynn C Degennaro , Associate Director of Summer & Youth Programs Ashley Dussault , Education Coordinator , DEEC Patrick L Eggleston , Market Garden Farmer , Coverdale Ellerie Ezekiel , Environmental Advocate Candy Farr , Database Administrator Patrick M Gates , Facilities & Grounds Steward Robin Glazer , Environmental Advocate Marie Graham , Associate Director of Development Jhaney Hamlett , Communications & Outreach Coordinator John Harrod , Director of DEEC Scott M Heck , Director of Facilities Ruby Jimenez , Custodian Molly E Kerrigan , School & Group Program Manager Thea Lopez , Youth Development Coordinator Logan Mccabe , Market Garden Farmer - Field Operations Joanne Mcgeoch , Chief Development Officer Glynne Nagle , Office Manager , Ashland Mark Nardone , Director of Advocacy Jacquelyne Ng , Youth Development Coordinator , DEEC David H Pragoff , Director of School & Group Programs David V Pro , Land Steward Michael R Rivera , Facilities & Land Steward Christina Rydgren , Director of Education & Operations Joseph E Sebastiani , Director of Adult Engagement Ian Stewart , Ornithologist Stephanie Sturmfels , Marketing Manager Kristen S Travers , Director of Conservation Michele Wales Quinlan , Farm Manager & Site Director , Coverdale James F White , Senior Fellow for Land & Biodiversity Management Dennis Edward Williams , Director of Business & Finance Kerry Wilson , Habitat Outreach Manager
Part Time Core Staff
Catherine Coin , Visitor Services , DEEC Christina Leeson , Website & Graphic Design Coord . Nancy Steckel , Executive Assistant

Thank You

Part Time Staff
Malinda Alexander- Rosario Alison E Altergott Will Altman Ellen D Bacino Matthew Baker Lindsay Ball Jessica E Barber Charles Barilo Reuben Becker-Klein Sarah Bett Kendra M Bober Kiera Bourne-Bey Connor Breslin James Bretzger Riley Brinsfield Leah M Brooks David E Brown Kevin David Brown Katherine Buell-Fleming Eileen Campbell Kathryn A Chambers Nora Childers Stephen L Childers Dillon Cody Emily Connor Margie Rita Cummings Gregory Datto Harold Davis Nancy S Delong Alexis Desanti Kensho Dey Air Dunkley Maria Dupnock Jacob Fay Cory Feaster Heidi F Ferguson Barbara L Fitzpatrick Veronica W Gates Sharon Gaudino Nate Gerstenschlager Nettie Green Detroy Harris Allison M Harten Rebecca Harten Nelson Hernandez Iii Irvin J Hollingsworth Jr Christian Holloman Erin T Jenkins Cornelius D Johnson Jr Zell Johnson Haley E Jordan Elizabeth D Kaplan Olivia Lane Tracy Lea-Dorsey Kyle Lentz Mary Ann Levan Madison Lin Elaine S Little


Karen Martinez Marissa Mcclenton Lucien Mckean Emily M Mckeever Courtney S Mckinley Sara Mejia Annalie E Mergenthaler Alyssa M Molin Lori A Molin Carol Moneymaker Judith A Montgomery Lauren E Moser Margaret N Nelson Neenah H Newell Sara F O Byrne Andrew Overman Mary Paxton Boeni Anna Pohorylo Louise Poppiti David A Raughley Johnathan W Ray Lily Reardon Matthew Renzulli Marjorie D Ripsom Stephanie Ripsom Jessica E Rodriguez Edward H Rohrbach Leslie Savage Dana Schaefer Teresita L Schubert Laura Schumacher Wendy Scott Jessica Shahan Hazel A Shinholt Kamrin Simms Nicholas Smith Maya Sortino Georgia A Stubbs Jamie Summerfield Kathleen M Szczerba Diana P Taylor Peter C Thomas Asher Timmons Susan C Tolbert Janice Trainer Judith A Vanderwerff Nicholas Vermiglio Sheila E Vincent Valerie D Walters Wini Walton Cherish A Warner Alexandra White Amy W White James R White Kari E White Clarence E Workman Robert A Yacucci Nan S Zamorski Zamorski , Nan S