College Columns May 2017 | Page 12

Barton Law Firm, PA is pleased to announce that Christine Brimm is becoming a partner in the firm, which will be renamed Barton Brimm, PA. The firm is relocating to 3955 Hwy 17 ByPass, Suite D, Murrells Inlet, SC 29576. It will continue to provide representation throughout the state of South Carolina in the field of bankruptcy law.

Judy B. Calton, Partner at Honigman Miller Schwartz and Cohn LLP (Detroit) was honored as a Leader in the Law 2017, by Michigan Lawyers Weekly on March 23, 2017, for demonstrating excellence in her field, a commitment to her clients and community, and respect for the law.

Hon. Mary Grace Diehl (U.S. Bankruptcy Court, N.D. Ga) received the Benefactor level Endowment Award at the ABI Spring Meeting in Washington, D.C.

On March 29, 2017, Fordham Law School dedicated the Kirpalani Commons in honor of Susheel Kirpalani ’94, founder and chair of Quinn Emanuel Urquhart & Sullivan LLP’s bankruptcy and restructuring group. The honor celebrates Kirpalani’s generosity in funding programs that support the School’s students interested in pursuing public interest law. Through a leadership gift and significant bequest, he established the Kirpalani Scholars program, which provides full annual scholarships for four students, and he also underwrites summer fellowships for students through the School’s Public Interest Resource Center.

one of three 2017 Louis J. Lefkowitz Public Service Awards. The awards, named for Fordham Law alumnus Louis J. Lefkowitz, a former Attorney General of the State of New York who embodied the highest standards of public service, are given annually to alumni or friends of

Patricia A. Redmond (Stearns, Weaver, Miller, Weissler, Alhadeff & Sitterson, P.A.) received the annual Anthony

Keith J. Shapiro, Co-Chairman of the Chicago office at global law firm GreenbergTraurig, LLP and Co-Chair of the firm’s Restructuring & Bankruptcy Practice, received Emory Bankruptcy Developments Journal’s Distinguished Service Award for Lifetime Achievement on Monday, April 3rd at the Journal’s 2017 Banquet in Atlanta.

The Distinguished Service award is presented annually to a member of the bankruptcy field who has made significant contributions to the legal community and practice.

Focus on Fellows

We invite all Fellows to submit information about awards, news, and/or recent publications. Member highlights will be published on a bi-monthly basis to all Fellows through email or the College Columns as appropriate. If you have news about yourself or a colleague, please send announcements to Carole McNamara, ACB Communications Director, at [email protected].


Fordham Law School who have made significant contributions to the Law School’s public service programs or whose careers have had a significant impact in public interest law and community service.

The School also recognized Kirpalani with

H.N. Schnelling Leadership Award at the ABI Spring Meeting in Washington, D.C.