College Columns June 2021 - Page 15

L . Bernstein of Arnold & Porter , Douglas M . Foley of McGuire Woods LLP , Danielle Spinelli of Wilmer Cutler Pickering Hale and Dorr , and Lynn Lewis-Tavenner of Tavenner & Beran , PLC . The judges from Courtroom 1 judged the final round . The bailiffs were Jana Laks and Beth Wiggins .
Teams had the opportunity to argue both sides of the issue and to appear before both panels of judges . Private rooms were set up for teams to confer with each other throughout the day in addition to the two courtrooms and private deliberation rooms for judges .
Teams from Howard University School of Law ( Jordan Greer and Emony Robertson ), Brooklyn Law School ( Alexa Cohn and David Kim ), Emory University School of Law ( Robert Brown , Kaitlyn Gilbert , and Remya Menon ), University of Maryland School of Law ( Sandy Lamy and Jason Owens ), and two from Campbell University School of Law ( Ben Aydlett and Savannah Singletary ; Breann Burns and Diane Ford ) competed .
Both teams from Campbell were coached by Pam McAfee and Margaret Westbrook . The Brooklyn team was coached by Jordan Khorshad and Marissa Wong , and the Emory team was coached by Cayton Christman and Kate Dolansky . Howard ’ s team was coached by Matthew Bruckner , and Maryland ’ s team was coached by both Hon . Robert Gordon , U . S . Bankruptcy Judge for the District of Maryland ( retired ), who serves on the law faculty , and Hilary Hansen .
The fact pattern of this year ’ s competition involved two highly contested issues of bankruptcy law . The subjects argued by the advocates were ( 1 ) whether 11 U . S . C . § 362 and related judicial code provisions impliedly repealed the Federal Arbitration Act , 9 U . S . C . §§ 1 et seq ., and ( 2 ) whether 11
U . S . C . § 362 ( c )( 3 )( A ) applies to property of a debtor ’ s bankruptcy estate .
All student advocates who participated in the competition demonstrated strong knowledge of the material , presented compelling arguments , and clearly articulated their stance on the issues . Their performances were outstanding .
Guests were invited to attend the final round which consisted of advocates Robert Brown and Kaitlyn Gilbert of Emory University School of Law and advocates Ben Aydlett and Savannah Singletary of Campbell University School of Law .
The competition was won by Campbell ’ s Ben Aydlett and Savannah Singletary . The Best Oral Presentation Award went to Howard ’ s Emony Robertson .
The 29th annual Duberstein Bankruptcy Moot Court Competition took place virtually from February 27th to March 1st 2021 , where student advocates from this past weekend ’ s moot court competed .
The Fourth Circuit fellows plan to hold future regional competitions , offering more students the opportunity to participate .