College Columns Dec 2014 Issue

College Columns

December 2014 Issue I

In This Issue

Fellows in the 12

Foundation 4

Welcome Class 26 5

2014 Pro Bono 8

2014 Fall All-Fellows Luncheon


Circuit Events

January 23, 2015

15th Annual First Circuit Reception & Wine Tasting

Boston, MA

January 23-25, 2015

11th Circuit Fellows Retreat

Sarasota, FL

February 7, 2015

ACB LawMeet Restructuring Negotiation Competition

USC Gould School of Law

Los Angeles, CA

March 12-14, 2015

Class 26 Induction Ceremony & Related Events

Washington, DC

For details and registration information for these and other regional events, please click here. If you know of an upcoming event that is not listed, please let Shari Bedker know at [email protected].

Nearly two hundred Fellows joined the American College of Bankruptcy for the Fall All-Fellows Luncheon, held in Chicago, Illinois on October 8, 2014 at the Chicago Hyatt Regency.

Attendees enjoyed a delicious lunch while listening to a consumer-focused panel presentation by bankruptcy experts Neil Gordon of Arnall Golden Gregory, LLP in Atlanta, GA, Mary Ann Rabin of Rabin & Rabin Co., LPA in Cleveland, OH, John Rao of the National Consumer Law Center, Inc., in Boston, MA, and Henry Sommer of the Consumer Bankruptcy Assistance Project in Philadelphia, PA.

Panelists discussed the latest trends and practices on the consumer side of bankruptcy.

Attendees also heard from Erica Spangler Raz of the Chicago Law Project. The Chicago Law Project is a past recipient of the American College of Bankruptcy Foundation's Pro Bono Grants program.

The Law Project provides free, expert legal assistance to support community development efforts led by entrepreneurs and nonprofit organizations that generally do not have the resources to pay for legal services.

Ms. Raz explained how ACB funds have been disbursed to support local clients in need and emphasized the ongoing challenges facing pro bono organizations serving the community.

2014 Fall All-Fellows Luncheon Highlights

Carole McNamara, ACB Staff