Canadian Musician - November/December 2021 - Page 18



Albums by Nomeansno & Faith Nolan Earn 2021 Polaris Heritage Prize Designation
The Polaris Music Prize has announced albums from Nomeansno and Faith Nolan have received 2021 Slaight Family Polaris Heritage Prize designation .
Nomeansno ’ s 1989 hardcore punk album Wrong was chosen in the Heritage Prize public voting category . Faith Nolan ’ s 1986 blues-folk release Africville received the Heritage designation from the 11-member Polaris Heritage Prize jury .
“ Part of the role of the Heritage Prize is to shed light on great albums that may no longer be widely known and played , even though they laid the groundwork for many others ,” says Heritage Prize jury foreperson Mary Dickie . “ These two remarkable albums — a pioneer in fusing punk and metal and a song cycle about Black history in Canada — not only exhibit excellence in songwriting and musicianship , but are landmarks in Canadian music history .”
With the two new winners , 35 albums have received Polaris Heritage Prize designation since it was launched in 2015 . Other Heritage Prize winners include Glenn Gould , Feist , Harmonium , Kate & Anna Mc- Garrigle , Dream Warriors , and Neil Young .
Like the Polaris Music Prize , winners and nominees for the Heritage Prize are Canadian albums of artistic distinction , without regard to musical genre or commercial popularity . This is the Polaris version of a hall of fame where it tries to determine who would have been nominated or won the Prize before it began in 2006 .
For more information , go to www . polarismusicprize . ca / heritage-prize .
Winners Revealed for 2021 Western Canadian Music Awards
On Oct . 17 th via a livestreamed event , the Western Canadian Music Alliance announced the winners of the 2021 Western Canadian Music Awards in both the Artistic and Industry categories .
A special pre-awards show program aired earlier in the afternoon , ahead of the full winner reveal , on CBC Radio One ’ s Up to Speed program , where Pop Artist of the Year was awarded to Begonia , Grant Davidson ( MB ) was announced as the winner of the Songwriter of the Year Award , and Rock Artist of the Year was presented to Mise en Scene .
Following the broadcast , all of the award winners were revealed on BreakOut West ’ s Facebook Live . Manitoba musicians made an outstanding showing this year , taking home 11 of the Artistic awards , including Recording of the Year , which was presented to Begonia and accompanied by a $ 2,000 honourarium courtesy of Stingray Music ’ s Stingray Rising Star program . Double-winner Kelly Bado ( Global Artist and Francophone Artist of the Year ) was also presented with a $ 1,000 honourarium courtesy of APCM . Additionally , Alberta ’ s Sargeant X Comrade was named BreakOut Artist of the Year and B . C . duo Snotty Nose Rez Kids earned both Indigenous and Rap / Hip Hop Artist of the Year awards .
For the full list of nominees and winners , go to www . breakoutwest . ca / awards .
SOCAN & International Songwriting Competition Partner for Inaugural Spotlight Award
The International Songwriting Competition ( ISC ) has announced the launch of a new Spotlight Award that will be given annually to a song and its songwriter ( s ) from a different country . The goal is to shine the spotlight on songwriting talent each year and honour their musical achievements . The inaugural award , presented by ISC and SOCAN , will be presented to a Canadian song and its songwriter ( s ) who embody excellence in the craft of songwriting . All Canadians who are members of SOCAN are eligible for this award . This award is in addition to all other winners honoured in the overall ISC competition .
The winner will be selected by ISC and will be awarded a prize package consisting of studio recording time at Dark Horse Recording Studio in Franklin , TN , one-week lodging at SOCAN Nashville House , and a travel grant from the SOCAN Foundation .
Now in its 20 th year , ISC was created to recognize great songwriters and to provide a valuable platform to be heard by the music industry and the public alike . The competition is open to both professional and amateur songwriters . A total of 71 winners in 23 genre categories share in over $ 225,000 in cash and prizes , including an overall Grand Prize consisting of $ 25,000 cash , and more . Previous winners include Vance Joy , Faouzia , Gotye , Sam Roberts , The Band Perry , Tenille Townes , Andrew Bird , The Trews , and many more .
All SOCAN memberships must be completed by December 31 , 2021 , to qualify for the Spotlight Award consideration .
For more information , go to www . songwritingcompetition . com / songs / spotlightaward .