Brevard Zoo Membership Newsletter Fall 2019 - Page 5

Program Weapons of the Wild See how animals use their teeth, claws, armor and more to keep predators at bay. Ages Dates & Times Price Ages 5–8 Monday, December 9 | 2–4 p.m. OR Tuesday, December 10 | 2–4 p.m. OR Monday, December 16 | 10 a.m.–12 p.m. Cost: $25 Member: $15 Ages 9–12 Monday, December 9 | 2–4 p.m. OR Monday, December 16 | 10 a.m.–12 p.m. Cost: $25 Member: $15 Homeschool Day Take an educational tour of Rainforest Revealed, meet ambassador animals, make crafts and more! Children must be accompanied by an adult. All ages Friday, January 24 | 9 a.m.–2 p.m. Students 4 & up: $12 Adults: $14 Farm to Table: The Science Get down and dirty learning how plants grow, then take some home to start your own garden. Ages 5–8 Monday, February 3 | 2–4 p.m. OR Tuesday, February 4 | 2–4 p.m. OR Monday. February 10 | 10 a.m.–12 p.m. Cost: $25 Member: $15 Ages 9–12 Monday, February 3 | 2–4 p.m. OR Monday, February 10 | 2–4 p.m. Cost: $25 Member: $15 Ages 5–8 Monday, March 2 | 2–4 p.m. OR Tuesday, March 3 | 2–4 p.m. OR Monday, March 9 | 10 a.m.–12 p.m. Cost: $25 Member: $15 Ages 9–12 Monday, March 2 | 2–4 p.m. OR Monday, March 9 | 2–4 p.m. Cost: $25 Member: $15 Ages 5–8 Monday, April 13 | 2–4 p.m. OR Tuesday, April 14 | 2–4 p.m. OR Monday, April 20 | 10 a.m.–12 p.m. Cost: $25 Member: $15 Ages 9–12 Monday, April 13 | 2–4 p.m. OR Monday, April 20 | 2–4 p.m. Cost: $25 Member: $15 Let’s Eat! Dig into a lesson on the food web and make a yummy snack from home-grown ingredients. Birds! Birds! Birds! Step into the shoes of an ornithologist to uncover the secrets of feathers and flight. JR. ZOOKEEPER CLUB: Our club gives tweens access to special behind-the-scenes tours, amazing animal encounters and fun social opportunities. Hurricane Hazards What happens at the Zoo during a hurricane? Ages 10–13 Sunday, October 20 | 1–3 p.m. Cost: $25 Member: $15 Gregarious Giraffe See how we use science to group animals together. Ages 10–13 Sunday, November 17 | 1–3 p.m. Cost: $25 Member: $15 Jr. Zookeeper Night Hike Step into the shoes of a keeper and explore the Zoo after dark! Includes pizza dinner. Ages 10–13 Friday, December 13 | 5–9 p.m. Cost: $35 Member: $25 NIGHT HIKES: Explore the Zoo after dark with games, crafts, animal encounters and a pizza dinner! Yuck-tober Learn about some nasty animal habits and the reasons behind these behaviors. Ages 5–12 Friday, October 4 | 5–9 p.m. Cost: $35 Member: $25 A Wild Thanks Give back to wildlife by making a “toad abode” for your backyard and a reusable canvas tote bag. Ages 5–12 Saturday, November 16 | 5–9 p.m. Cost: $35 Member: $25 Rainforest Rangers Patrol the brand-new Rainforest Revealed loop and earn a Zoo patch! Ages 5–12 Friday, December 6 | 5–9 p.m. Cost: $35 Member: $25 WINTER CAMPS: What better place to spend winter break than the Zoo? Rainforest Expedition Explore the layers of the rainforest and the animals that live there. Grades 1–5 January 2 & 3 | 8 a.m.–4 p.m. Cost: $130 Member: $110 Wildlife Rangers Discover the magic of nature through animal encounters and hands-on science. Grades 1–5 January 6 & 7 | 8 a.m.–4 p.m. Cost: $130 Member: $110 Brevard Zoo News | Fall 2019 | www.brevardzoo.org 5