Beacon Tabs OSU Extension 100 Years - Page 12

continued from page 11 1980 1982 Irene Buxton and Olive Martin received the first ever 4-H Ambassador Awards. The awards were given to club advisors, key leaders or 4-H agents that are living and have given service to local youth and / or served on 4-H committees for local events. Leslie “Blair” Porteus was the first from Coshocton County to receive the Ohio 4-H Hall of Fame Award. Blair was a staunch supporter of 4-H and the entire Cooperative Extension Service in Coshocton County for many years. 1984 1983, Home Economics Agent Award Recipients Harriet Green, former Home Economics Agent (second from left) and Gladys Clark, former 4-H Advisor (second from right) are presented 4-H Ambassador Awards at the 1983 4-H Leaders Banquet by Carol Miller (left) and Mary Lou Overholt (right). William H. Hunter received the first Friend of 4-H Award. This award is given to a recipient who has provided service through direct contributions or varied service to the 4-H program. 1980, Judges for apple pie contest. Left to Right; Kevin Riley, Manager at Old Warehouse Restaurant, Alice Moore, Former Home Economics Extension Agent and Cathy Swango, Coshocton Home Ecenomics Extension Agent 1985 Extension Advisory Committee awards first Friend of Extension Awards to Buehler’s, Coshocton County Agricultural Society, and First Federal Savings Bank. There have been a total of 87 recipients of this award (individuals, businesses or agencies) that have made a significant contribution to support extension programs. 1987 Satellite teleconferencing was initiated as a program delivery system, and the Coshocton County office received these programs via satellite dish. 1990 4-H Enrollment was at 1,553 youth and 317 adult volunteers. 12-B THE BEACON continued on page 13 APRIL 17, 2019