BAMOS Vol 30 No. 4 2017 | Page 13

Regional Centres BAMOS Dec 2017 13 Priestley Cup 2017: Unimelb triumph in the heat Kimberley Reid The University of Melbourne On the 23rd of November, the Victorian AMOS cohort pulled on their boots for the annual Priestley Cup soccer tournament. The conditions were tough with a maximum temperature of 31.9°C. Sadly, CSIRO couldn’t field a team, but the Bureau of Meteorology and Monash proved to be formidable opponents for the reigning champions: Unimelb. News that the Bureau played in a weekly indoor soccer contest spread to the two universities. But Monash came prepared with more substitutes than any other team and a professional looking warm up routine. Despite travelling the shortest distance, the Unimelb players arrived on the field last, so the Bureau of Meteorology and Monash kicked off for the first match while Unimelb warmed up. The weather was hot, but the footwork was hotter, and the Bureau and Monash put on an excellent show. At the end of the thirty minute game, the scores were 1–1 and a draw was declared. The Monashians may (quite reasonably) claim the fixture led to their downfall: the Bureau got to rest, while Monash played Unimelb in the second match. Oxford and Cambridge, Harvard and Yale, Melbourne and Monash. There are few sporting rivalries as passionate and beautiful as those between two universities. With scores level in the dying minutes, every player put their body on the line to try and score the winning goal. A clearing kick from defence, followed by a header from the midfield to Martin Jucker who guided the ball to the back of the net in the last seconds helped Unimelb win the second game by 2 goals to 1. Unfortunately for Monash, their chance of winning the Priestley Cup was over. Meanwhile, Unimelb and the Bureau lined up for the final match. Both goal keepers were invaluable only letting in one goal each. The game ended in a draw but Unimelb retained the Priestley cup because they had one win and one draw compared to the Bureau’s two draws. MVP Zebedee Nicholls had the honour of collecting the cup on Unimelb’s behalf. Pizza and beer on the Unimelb balcony followed the tournament where sporting rivalries disappeared and players enjoyed sharing a meal, conversation and love for the game. Special thanks to Martin Jucker for organising everything and Abaz (from Unimelb Geology) who refereed. The winning team from The University of Melbourne (clockwise from left): Roland Stirnberg, Ewan Short, Zebedee Nicholls, Sonya Fiddes, Martin Jucker, Kate Saunders, Corinne Sanders and Kimberley Reid.