Arctic Yearbook 2014 | Page 2

2     Arctic Yearbook 2014 Heininen, L., Exner-Pirot H. and Plouffe J. (eds.). (2014). Arctic Yearbook 2014. Akureyri, Iceland: Northern Research Forum. Available from   ISSN 2298–2418 This publication is available under limited copyright protection. You may download, distribute, photocopy, cite or excerpt this document provided it is properly and fully credited and not used for commercial purposes. Cover Image: Untitled Bolot Bochkarev Reproduced with permission from RIA Novosti Editor: Lassi Heininen, University of Lapland | [email protected] Managing Editors: Heather Exner-Pirot, University of Saskatchewan | [email protected] Joël Plouffe, École nationale d’Administration Publique (ENAP, Montréal) | [email protected] Editorial Board: Dr. Lawson Brigham (Distinguished Professor of Geography & Arctic Policy, University of Alaska Fairbanks; Senior Fellow, Institute of the North, United States) Dr. Robert Corell (Principal and Professor II, Global Environment & Technology Foundation; Chair of Global Science Associates; University of Tromsø & University of the Arctic, Norway) Dr. Gail Fondahl (Professor and Vice-President, Research, University of Northern British Columbia, Canada) Dr. Ólafur Ragnar Grímsson (President of Iceland) Dr. Yang Jian (Vice-President of Shanghai Institutes for International Studies, China) Dr. Kari Laine (Director of the Thule Institute, University of Oulu, Finland) Dr. Gustaf Lind (Arctic Council SAO Chair, Sweden) Dr. Steven E. Miller (Director of the International Security Program; Editor-in-Chief of International Security, Harvard University, United States) Dr. Alexander Pelyasov (Russian Academy of Sciences; Director of the Center of Northern and Arctic Economics; Ministry of Economic Development & Trade, Russia) Ms. Diana Wallis (MEP & Former Vice-President of the EU Parliament, United Kingdom)